This is Aquafortis's Typepad Profile.
Join Typepad and start following Aquafortis's activity
Join Now!
Already a member? Sign In
Aquafortis
Recent Activity
Thanks for all the suggestions! I always wait until later in the nominations period so that I can nominate titles that "got missed." These lists are always a huge help.
Toggle Commented Oct 8, 2013 on The Clock is Ticking! at Cybils
I absolutely love it! Belated congrats, you guys.
Toggle Commented Aug 23, 2013 on Proposal at Left of the Dial
Thank you, Sheila, and likewise! :)
Toggle Commented Sep 15, 2012 on Meet Sarah Stevenson, Cybils Blog Editor at Cybils
So fabulous! Then again, Mo is awesomesauce.
Toggle Commented Mar 3, 2012 on Awww ... at Cybils
Awesome, Gina! That is definitely a worthwhile effort.
Toggle Commented Feb 13, 2012 on Monday Monday at Cybils
I get to be on a committee with him! Neener neener! :)
Toggle Commented Jan 26, 2012 on Review Feynman by Jim Ottaviani at Cybils
Buuurrrrn.
Toggle Commented Jan 10, 2012 on Yowch. at bookshelves of doom
Okay, I respect all your opinions (and NPR's), so I'll give it a shot. I didn't find the jacket copy at all appealing, so when I picked it up in the library (I LOVE the title) I'm sorry to say I ended up putting it back on the shelf. Oh, and I really liked SPUD. :)
It sounds like a really neat book! I love the idea of including her own drawings as well as the older engravings. What a great way to get kids interested in exploration and curious about the world.
Ohhhh. I thought you were going to talk about THIS story: http://www.npr.org/blogs/therecord/2011/09/01/140120452/reggae-loves-country-a-50-year-romance
Toggle Commented Sep 12, 2011 on I really like the idea... at bookshelves of doom
Of course, you had me at post-apocalyptic, but this one does sound good. The dialect details remind me a bit of a book I read ages ago called RIDDLEY WALKER by Russell Hoban, about a youth living in a post-apocalyptic subsistence society--the entire book was narrated in a stylized dialect. I'm also going to have to read this because I'm currently working on a brand-new project that's a sort of post-apocalyptic story...so I'm interested in reading what others have done with it!
For the most part, I'm fine with Danny Elfman, but...yeah. Huh. Weird choice here. I don't want The Hunger Games to sound like Pee-Wee's Big Adventure, and honestly, like you pointed out, much of his movie music sounds veeeery similar.
"Theo is a terrific character, an everyman kind of kid. He's smart but nerdy, respectful of his parents and pals but not afraid to speak up when he feels he should." Oh, yeah, because that's totally what every kid is like. And with perfect parents, too. Somebody should recommend this one to the WSJ.
Toggle Commented Jun 8, 2011 on Oh, USA Today... at bookshelves of doom
Awesome awesome awesome! Malcolm McDowell would have been spot on, but Donald Sutherland is great, too.
Toggle Commented May 31, 2011 on President Snow has been cast. at bookshelves of doom
I love those eyes. It's trying to hypnotize me.
Toggle Commented Jan 4, 2011 on Red Tailed Hawk at Amy Haney Art
Holy crap! I can't wait! I have to agree, though, with Dirk not quite matching my mental image. I pictured someone a little more 70s-tastic.
Toggle Commented Dec 9, 2010 on Dirk Gently teaser! at bookshelves of doom
Dude, I love this list. I've read most of 'em (apparently I have a penchant for this theme) but there are a few major ones I still need to locate. I think The Running Man is the only Stephen King novel I really LOVED. (Haven't read the other one you mentioned.) Definitely a good one for this list. Someone just recently recommended Fever Crumb (by Philip Reeve) for readers of Mockingjay, and I just started it myself and I'm enjoying it--takes place in a London that's 1000 years in the future and full of dead technology. It would probably be somewhere with Incarceron on the "books that are a bit of a stretch" list. YOU MUST READ CHAOS WALKING. I agree with Floating Lush's assessment. And the Marsden books are great, especially the first few in the series.
I hate to say it, but I'm just not all that surprised by this. I haven't been fond of Francine Prose's YA books, either. Hard to put my finger on, but I'll be interested to hear the verdict on this one. By the way--Girls of Canby Hall, over there on the right--are those the books about Faith and Dana, or am I confusing it with another series?
Oh, argh!...Hey, wait, it's not raining frogs, is it?
Anne Rice does a lot of weird stuff. I'm thinking she periodically likes to renew the media's interest in her...
Toggle Commented Jul 29, 2010 on In case you haven't heard... at bookshelves of doom
Aquafortis is now following The Typepad Team
Jul 29, 2010