This is Brad Wilson's Typepad Profile.
Join Typepad and start following Brad Wilson's activity
Join Now!
Already a member? Sign In
Brad Wilson
Technologist. Agile Evangelist. Poker Player. Amateur Neologist. Metalhead.
Recent Activity
This is still only worth 2 points. We will generally toss the hand in one the 3rd trick has been taken, since there's no point in finishing the hand.
Toggle Commented Jul 14, 2014 on Traditional Euchre at The Rules of the Game
1 reply
I've never played Farkle online, so I'm not sure what "x2 + B" means. There are really only a couple rolls that make sense to score 2100 points: four 1s (for 2000) + two 5s (for 50 each), or five 5s (for 2000) and one 1 (for 100).
Toggle Commented Jul 14, 2014 on Farkle at The Rules of the Game
1 reply
When you roll no scorable dice, that's called "farkling out", because you lose your turn, and you get no points.
Toggle Commented Jul 14, 2014 on Farkle at The Rules of the Game
1 reply
No, each roll is evaluated independently. Your first roll was 100 points for the 1, and the second roll is worth 50 points for the 5.
Toggle Commented Jul 14, 2014 on Farkle at The Rules of the Game
1 reply
500 points (200 for the three 2s, and 300 for the three 3s).
Toggle Commented Jul 14, 2014 on Farkle at The Rules of the Game
1 reply
I've never heard of such a rule. I can understand how it might be helpful to differentiate between cards played in the current run up to 31 from cards that were previously used. You could also argue that turning the cards down forces players to remember what was played rather than being able to look, but given how little of the deck is in the players hands, I can't imagine this is particularly valuable.
Toggle Commented Jul 9, 2014 on Cribbage at The Rules of the Game
1 reply
There are a lot of these local variations (in general, I don't like playing with them, but that's just me). As for why they wanted to throw the cards in before you finished... to their mind, you'd already picked trump, and there's no point waiting for you to discard. This "efficient play" is pretty common with Euchre, but it can be pretty off-putting to new players who may feel like they're being hurried through the game.
Toggle Commented Feb 28, 2014 on Traditional Euchre at The Rules of the Game
1 reply
Standardized bidding systems are a huge benefit to Bridge, but never seem to have caught on in Pinochle (at least, not with the people I played with).
Toggle Commented Feb 3, 2014 on Double Deck Pinochle at The Rules of the Game
1 reply
Good question! I've never played this way, but hopefully others will contribute their opinions and experiences. :)
Toggle Commented Dec 9, 2013 on Double Deck Pinochle at The Rules of the Game
1 reply
Yes, the game is over in this case. You win. :)
Toggle Commented Oct 5, 2013 on Cribbage at The Rules of the Game
1 reply
I have not played that way, but it sounds like a fun addition to help reign in any runaway players. :)
Toggle Commented Sep 26, 2013 on Farkle at The Rules of the Game
1 reply
It's 600 points. Scoring is done per roll.
Toggle Commented Sep 23, 2013 on Farkle at The Rules of the Game
1 reply
No, the 500 point requirement is only when you have no score yet. Every time thereafter, you can stop whenever you want.
Toggle Commented Aug 19, 2013 on Farkle at The Rules of the Game
1 reply
Your interpretation is correct. Further, in your first example, where you rolled a pair of fives (set aside for 100 points), then rolled a pair of threes and pair of fours, you've Farkled, because there were no scoring dice in the second roll. In the second case, 1000 points is correct (3-of-a-kind 4s for 400 + 3-of-a-kind 6s for 600). I'm not sure how you were getting 2500 points here, but it doesn't matter, because the 1000 point score is correct. :)
Toggle Commented Aug 16, 2013 on Farkle at The Rules of the Game
1 reply
While you can't reuse runs cards for marriages, you *can* reuse them for pinochles. Assuming Spades are trump, the single run of spades is worth 15, and the two pinochles are worth 30 (for a total of 45 points).
Toggle Commented Jul 9, 2013 on Double Deck Pinochle at The Rules of the Game
1 reply
I believe you have to still play the hand, because the defending team's score is based on how much game points they take, even if the other team is automatically penalized. Or, to phrase it another way: you can predict the trump-calling team's score without needing the play the hand, but you cannot predict the defending team's score. Thus, the hand must still be played.
Toggle Commented Jul 8, 2013 on Double Deck Pinochle at The Rules of the Game
1 reply
The other team is rewarded the maximum points they might have otherwise been eligible for: normally 2 points, unless they are going alone (then 4 points).
Toggle Commented Jun 9, 2013 on Traditional Euchre at The Rules of the Game
1 reply
Six of a kind is 8x the value of three of a kind, so... 1s would be 8000, 2s would be 1600, 3s would be 2400, 4s would be 3200, 5s would be 4000, and 6s would be 4800.
Toggle Commented May 20, 2013 on Farkle at The Rules of the Game
1 reply
This is a tough one. Honestly, the way I view things like this, is that cheating happens when there are secret signals that happen during actual play. Sharing general strategy in-between hands is acceptable (especially since the whole table was party to the conversation, but even if not).
Toggle Commented May 7, 2013 on Traditional Euchre at The Rules of the Game
1 reply
Sorry about that. I put it on my TODO list. It got lost in my departure from Microsoft.
1 reply
Yes. The value for Knobs is independent of the value for a Flush.
Toggle Commented Apr 13, 2013 on Cribbage at The Rules of the Game
1 reply
No. Whenever you start a new count, you lose the ability to play anything like a run, pair, etc.
Toggle Commented Jan 5, 2013 on Cribbage at The Rules of the Game
1 reply
Ive never played this way, but Id have to say that in general when games are played toward a winning point goal, then it is the team that achieved the most points overall who wins (just as similarly as if two teams both achieved exactly 21 points, the game would be a tie, and youd either end it as a tie or continue to play until the tie was broken). So my judgment would be that the team who hit 22 points was the winner.
Toggle Commented Nov 16, 2012 on Setback at The Rules of the Game
1 reply
In order to say "alone", you must be the person declaring trump. The first person to declare trump obviously stops the trump bidding process. Given the bidding order, the dealer's partner would've been the first person to declare trump (and then say "alone"), so they were the player who was obligated to play. The dealer cheated here, unfortunately.
Toggle Commented Nov 10, 2012 on Traditional Euchre at The Rules of the Game
1 reply
I have definitely ordered a partner with just the left, because you might have so strong a hand that you can do it (for example, all three off-suit aces).
Toggle Commented Nov 5, 2012 on Traditional Euchre at The Rules of the Game
1 reply